As the Deer

As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, O God. My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God? Psalm 42:1-2 (NIV)

As often happens with passages that are overworked, the meaning becomes shrouded by normality. Here in Psalm 42, we have a vivid image of what it means to truly seek after God. David does not say something like, “As the king seeks for a jester” or “As the merchant looks for a deal”…he says “as the deer pants for streams of water”

For many of us our pursuit of God is like a king seeking a jester. We want God to make our life smoother. We want Him to entertain us with a carefree existence held in His sovereign arms. Other times our pursuit of God is more like the merchant. We seek God because of the benefit of obedience as opposed to disobedience. Neither of these desires is intrinsically wrong, but they are not enough.

The true God-seeker realizes that He is His life source. The deer runs all about the woods looking for a stream to drink from and live. The believer seeks out God until He drinks from His fountain, because there is life.

About Jonathan McC

I am 22 years old, doing long-distance education from Whitefield College and Seminary in Biblical Philosophy. I do regular intern preaching at churches that need it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to As the Deer

  1. Brenda says:

    I am reminded that the deer does not get thirsty just once a month, once a week, nor once a day, but needs that drink possibly several times a day. How can I think that I can get away with drinking from the Fountain of Life any less than that and still have “life” in me? Oh, how I need to drink more often (sometimes I feel I need it every 1/2 hr.!)! Thanks again, Jonathan! This was a good reminder to me.

Leave a comment